Mayor Hendricks Announces 2016-2017 MYCity Members

Mayor CH

Hopkinsville Mayor Carter M. Hendricks is pleased to announce the members of the 2016-2017 Mayor’s Youth Council known as MYCity. Sixteen high school students will be introduced to City Council on Tuesday, October 4, 2016 for the second year of the program. The Mayor’s Youth Council provides the students with the opportunity to learn about local city government, develop leadership skills and serve as a voice for the youth in our community.

“I am proud to welcome the new members of MYCity as they assume a vital role representing the voice of Hopkinsville’s youth. I look forward to hearing their ideas and creative solutions on current topics in our community. The council is student-led so it is interesting to see them be a part of the government process,” said Mayor Hendricks. 

High school juniors and seniors from Christian County public, private and homeschool sectors were encouraged to apply. The final selections were based on written applications, letters of references and a panel interview process. Orientation with an overview of our local government and operations was held this past Saturday, September 24 at Hopkinsville Municipal Center with representation from each department. Regular meetings of MYCity are held the third Wednesday of every month at 4:30 pm in the council chambers at the Municipal Center located at 715 South Virginia Street.

myc photo

(Mayor’s Youth Council members from left to right: Sarah Herrell, HCA; Norma Jeronimo, CCHS; Matthew Handy, CCHS; Darren Shrum, UHA; Katie Ruth, HCA; Chloe Holloway, HCA; Rachel West, HCA; Jordyn Hornbuckle, UHA; Edward Lee Major, III, HHS; Halle Rhea Hendricks, CCHS; Kaylee Upton, CCHS; Regan Hancock, CCHS; Ka’Tyvin Anthony, HHS; Sydney Hill, HHS. Members Not Pictured are Lucas Doss, HHS and Kaley Keel, HHS.)

To learn more about MYCity please visit or call Idalia Luna, MYCity Coordinator, at 270-890-0239.