2017 Scholars banner

City Council Recognizes 2017 Mayor's Scholars

Mayor CH
At the March 21st City Council meeting, Council members and Mayor Carter Hendricks celebrated the accomplishments of this year’s top 12 Mayor’s Scholars.  These students represent the best essay writers from among this year’s field of submissions.

Through the county-wide competition, the students have earned cash prizes ranging from $25 for those essays judged 2nd through 12th place and $50 for the 1st place essay.  Students have been recognized at their respective schools and will also be congratulated at a School Board meeting. 

2017 Mayor’s Scholars Essay Champion


Sarah Watkins, CCMS

2017 Mayor’s Scholars Essay Finalists


Anna Lee, HMS


Alana Silvy, CCMS


Will Long, HMS


MaCalyn Hadley, CCMS


Jiles Wyatt, UHA


U'Nia Moody, CCMS (not pictured)


Tamera Brown, CCMS (not pictured)


Maggie Unfried, UHA


McKalee Sims, HMS


Thomas Grahek, CCMS


Elizabeth Pitts, HCA



City Council congratulates Mayor’s Scholars with a standing ovation at tonight’s City Council meeting

(Pictured Mayor Hendricks, left, and 2017 scholars)

To be named a Mayor’s Scholar, 8th grade students must have a 2.5 GPA at a middle school in Christian County, maintain a 95% attendance rate, have no office referrals and submit an essay recommending a youth-focused idea that Mayor Hendricks and the Mayor’s Youth Council should consider implementing to improve the quality of life of Hopkinsville’s young people.  All students meeting eligibility requirements were named Mayor’s Scholars last week.  Some 730 local school students wrote essays as part of this year’s competition.

The top 61 essayists are invited to enjoy a day-long field trip to Murray State University main campus on March 29.  2017 marks the 7th year of the program launched as part of the Partners in Education project.  The scholars program is open to all five public and private middle schools in Hopkinsville. 

For more information about the Mayor’s Scholars program, please contact Nikki Durham at nradford@hopkinsvilleky.us or (270) 890-0215. 


2017 Mayor’s Scholars



Will Long

Macy Baker

Will Blane

Chalisé Miller

Ashanti Banks

Luke Bottoms

Jenny Myers

Tamera Brown

Magdalene Britton

Tashay Nolan

LaJahnae Cayce

Olivia Cornelius

Keegan Pendleton

Corrine Cusick

Elizabeth Pitts

Rebecca Phipps

Reese Dexter


Madison Pinks

Jackson Dunning


Rachelle Shepherd

Britton Ford

Hunter Barnett

McKalee Sims

Lucas Gamble

Alyssa Bearns

Collin Sturdivant

Gage Goble

Ethan Binkley


Thomas Grahek

Jisanny Colon


MaCalyn Hadley

Alana Daniel

Molly Bennett

Kamare Lamb

Ester Tranquilino Ebbay

Tomas Duncan

Dayna Leek

Maleia Elliot


Eden Miller

James Folz


U'Nia Moody

Isaiah Forrest

Emma Grace Allen

Serenity Shemwell

Gracie Gates

Alison Bullen

Alana Silvy

Lukas Hall

Rebecca Fitzpatrick

K'Nyhia Terry

Taylor Koup

Palak Patel

Sarah Watkins

Anna Lee

Averie Turner

Jacob Williamson

Peyton Lewis

Maggie Unfried

John Willis

Katie Little

Jiles Wyatt


ccms scholars

Christian County Middle School Scholars


hca scholars

Heritage Christian Academy Scholars


hms scholars

Hopkinsville Middle School Scholars


st peter & paul scholars

Saints Peter & Paul Catholic School Scholars


uha scholars

University Heights Academy Scholars