Video Tour

Unity Breakfast

2020 Unity Breakfast Virtual Series

The 46th Annual Unity Breakfast was held on Thursday, October 24, 2019 at The Bruce Convention Center. Mr. Raoul Cunningham, former State NAACP President, was the keynote speaker.

THANK YOU to our 2019 Unity Breakfast Sponsors!
Unity Breakfast Sponsors 2019

Hal & Bettye Thurmond Award

Each year a Hal & Bettye Thurmond Award is awarded to an individual or group who’s making a difference to improve the community through their dedication to human relations. This award is presented by the Hopkinsville Human Rights Commission. 

2019 Recipient: Police Chief Clayton Sumner 

Unity Award

The Unity Award is awarded to an individual or group in the community who contributes to the spirit of unity. This award is presented by the City of Hopkinsville. 

2019 Recipient: The Boys & Girls Club of Hopkinsville – Christian County 

Volunteer of the Year Award

Initiated in 2018, Mayor Carter M. Hendricks recognizes and honors an individual or group for their outstanding service to the city of Hopkinsville. 

2019 Recipient: The Boys & Girls Club Board

2019 Building Community Video

Download the 2017 Love & Unity Project Presentation (PDF)

Hal & Bettye Thurmond Award Recipients 

  2018 Joetta Stewart 
  2017 Barney Bishop                                               1995   Elizabeth Spencer
  2016   Bonnie Lynch                                               1994   Howard Myers                                         
  2015   Angie Major                                                  1993   Linda Pearson
  2014   Tom Bell                                                           1992   Russell Weatherwax
  2013   Kurt & Susan Anderson                          1991   Norman Freeman
  2012   Rev. Buddy Slaughter                               1990   Tom C. Steiner
  2011   Nikki Durham                                               1989   Fannie Louise Maddux                                           
  2010   Elaine Love                                                     1988   J.T. Lynch
  2009   Jesse Quarles                                                1987  Mary Francis Loving 
  2008   Charles Turner                                             1986  Roger W. Holloway
  2007   Suzy Schlegel                                                1985  J. Raymond Lord
  2006   Mary Smith                                                     1984  Norma Berens
  2005   Wally Bryan                                                    1982  Eugene Pool
  2004   Marby Schlegel                                             1981   Rev. A.R. Lasley
  2003   Penny Chewning                                          1980   Frank J. Thomas
  2002   Wynn & Linda Radford                             1979   Carolyn Self
  2001   Wendell Lynch                                               1978   Joseph V. Rose
  2000   Garnett Smith                                                1977   K.O. Cayce, Sir
  1999   Marlin & Rochelle Anderson                 1976   Mamye B. White
  1998   Diane Croney - Turner                              1975   Francis Eugene Whitney
  1997   Jim & Joyce Adams                                      1974   Mrs. John Blane, Sr.
  1996   Barbara Waggoner                                      1973   Mary Virginia Parrish

Unity Award Recipients

  2018 Frances Dunbar & Cary Sharber   
  2017  Bill & Kaye Munday                                                            

  2016   Indian Physicians Alliance for Community Service                 2011   Jim Wisby    
  2015   Rev. Dr. M.O. & Renee Fort                                                                     2010   Dr. Vernell Larkin
  2014   Challenge House Movement                                                                  2009   Wally Bryan 
  2013   Isabel Soberal                                                                                                  2008   Matthew Harris
  2012   Graham and Rita Harvey                                                                           2007   Inner City Advisory Committee 

Volunteer of the Year Award Recipients