Video Tour

Call for Nominations for the Hal & Bettye Thurmond Award

If you know someone in the Hopkinsville-Christian County area who’s making a difference to improve the community through his/her dedication to human relations, please nominate them for the Hal & Bettye Thurmond Award presented by the Hopkinsville Human Rights Commission.  Nomination forms, along with a brief bio of explanation, must be received by 4:00 p.m. on Friday, October 4, 2019, by email to, or by mail to Hopkinsville Human Rights Commission at 715 South Virginia Street, Hopkinsville, KY 42240.  

The award is named for Hal Thurmond and his wife Bettye whose work to integrate housing, lunch counters, and public schools and to improve race relations in Christian County in the 1950s and ‘60s earned them a posthumous induction into the Kentucky Civil Rights Hall of Fame in the fall of 2006.  Owner of Blue Lake Block Co. and president of the local Chamber of Commerce, Mr. Thurmond demonstrated his commitment to the civil rights movement by helping to establish the Human Relations Commission (now known as the Human Rights Commission), for which Bettye became executive director.  

The 2019 Hal & Bettye Thurmond Award winner will be honored at the Unity Breakfast on Thursday, October 24th at 7:30 AM at The Bruce Convention Center, 303 Conference Center Dr. Hopkinsville, Ky 42240. Join the Human Rights Commission and keynote speaker,  Raoul Cunningham (State President of the NAACP) for a morning of fellowship and togetherness. $15 donations requested for individual tickets; $150 for a table of 10, and tickets at the door are $20.  Sponsorships are also available. For more info please call (270) 887-4010. 

Past Hal & Bettye Thurmond Award winners include:

2018 Joetta Stewart

2017 Barney Bishop                           2011 Nikki Radford               2005 Wally Bryan

2016 Wanda Bonnie Lynch                2010 Elaine Love                    2004 Marby Schlegel

2015 Angie Major                               2009 Jessie Quarles                 2003 Penny Chewning

2014 Rev. Tom Bell                            2008 Charles Turner               2002 Wynn & Linda Radford

2013 Kurt & Susan Anderson            2007 Suzy Schlegel                 2001 Wendell Lynch

2012 Rev. Buddy Slaughter               2006 Mary Smith                    2000 Garnett Smith