Video Tour

City Council Recognizes 2018 Mayor's Scholars

At the March 20th City Council meeting, Council members and Mayor Carter Hendricks celebrated the accomplishments of this year’s top 14 Mayor’s Scholars.  These students represent the best essay writers from among this year’s field of submissions.

Through the county-wide competition, the students have earned cash prizes ranging from $25 for those essays judged 2nd through 13th place and $50 for the 1st place essay.  Students also have been recognized at their respective schools.

2018 Mayor’s Scholars Essay Champion


Elli Buckingham, HCA

2018 Mayor’s Scholars Essay Finalists


Lauren Sisk, UHA


Joseph Boor, HMS


Randy Schimp, HMS


Grasen Givens, HMS


Jocelyn Porchia, HMS


Ka'tijah Davis, CCMS


Riley Hancock, CCMS


Dylan Griffiths, CCMS


Elaine Baker, SPP


William Carver-Hughes, HMS


Riley Johnson, CCMS


Allison Craig, UHA


Madison Winkler, CCMS




2018 Mayor's Scholars

City Council congratulates 2018 Mayor’s Scholars at City Council meeting

To be named a Mayor’s Scholar, 8th grade students must have a 2.5 GPA at a middle school in Christian County, maintain a 95% attendance rate, have no office referrals, and submit an essayAll students meeting eligibility requirements were named Mayor’s Scholars earlier this month. 

The top 58 essayists were invited to enjoy a day-long field trip to Murray State University main campus on February 15.  2018 marks the 8th year of the program launched as part of the Partners in Education project.  The scholars program is open to all five public and private middle schools in Hopkinsville.

For more information about the Mayor’s Scholars program, please contact Nikki Durham at or (270) 890-0215. 

2018 Mayor’s Scholars



Markina Howard

Chance Alexander

Savannah Blanchard

Will Knight

Rachel Baker

Elli Buckingham

Caroline Long

Autumn Bell

Alexis Crisp

Anna Maddux

Patricia Browder

Pate Griffey

Cindy Magill

Addison Burnham

Gabe Holland

Abby Moss

Chloe Craft

David Jent

Jada Poindexter

Ka'Tijah Davis

Dakota Mason

Jocelyn Porchia

Abigail Dazey

Mackensie Meacham

Randy Schimp

Melonie Elkins

Kristopher Ruth

Allison Wood

Dylan Griffiths

Tucker Wells


Riley Hancock



Jessah Hayden


Elaine Baker

Queinasia Henry

Aly Adler

Tristan Folz

Leighandra Hoover

Addyson Aldridge

Josh Groves

James Jackson

Hannah Biggs


Alexis Johnson

Clayton Blake


Riley Johnson

Joseph Boor

Ethan Alexander

Madison Lancaster

Salethia Byrd

Samuel Cotthoff

Luke Lutrull

William Carver-Hughes

Alison Craig

Lacy Patterson

Preston Chaudoin

Sarah Davis

Sheridan Roberts

JaMarie Clemens

Connor Dill

Ashley Shelton

Charlee Dossett

Thomas Graham

Morgan Wagner

Ryan Duffy

Emily Grise

Madison Winkler

Grasen Givens

Piper Hancock


Austin Hale

Haiden Hauret


Kayla Hancock

Chase Hendricks


Anna Hernandez

Sydney Newton



Lauren Sisk

2018 ccms scholars

Christian County Middle School Scholars


2018 hca scholars

Heritage Christian Academy Scholars


2018 hms scholars

Hopkinsville Middle School Scholars


2018 spp scholars

Saints Peter & Paul Catholic School Scholars


2018 uha scholars

University Heights Academy Scholars


2018 Mayor's Scholars at MSU
Mayor’s Scholars at Murray State University